My Journey Out of Debt and Shame

I’m starting this blog with the intention of helping someone, anyone, who’s going thru what I am. I hope that by being brutally honest and sharing my journey, that it will also give me more clarity along the way. I have no idea what I’ll write about, how often, or in what order but I’m just going to trust that it will all work out.

Today I admit that I am powerless over finances. I’ve been here before, my whole life really. I am out of control and have no idea how change will occur. I only know that I am willing, one day at a time. I am not looking for a quick fix (for the first time in my life), or for anyone to bail me out. I am willing to do the work, whatever it takes, to get off the gerbil wheel of financial pain, shame and struggle.

I googled Debtors Anonoymous today. I read the book many, many years ago. Got out of that mess and forgot about it. When I went to their website, I felt the first glimmer of hope that I’ve had in forever. I spent a lot of time reading there and will continue to. I am not advocating that website, I’m just saying that for ME, it’s going to be a tool that I use.

I answered every question here with a yes:

http://www.debtorsanonymous.org/help/questions.htm

I wasn’t even surprised that I answered with a yes and every question. I’m no longer in denial. I’m still in FEAR but not denial.

~ by myjourneyout on February 20, 2010.

Leave a Reply

 
